Set Currency:
Your Basket - 0 Items - £0.00 Checkout

Martyn Irvine Crowned Criterium Champion

Martyn Irvine Crowned Criterium Champion

Planet X team rider Martyn Irvine is the new Irish Criterium Champion after yesterday evening's event in Dundalk, Co. Louth. Initially the event was scheduled for one hour plus three laps, but heavy rain and concern for the riders' safety meant it was reduced significantly.

Once into the action, Tighernach Murphy (South Dublin CC) drummed up the tempo and went clear to open up the event. Six riders managed to bridge the gap and catch Murphy; Craig Sweetman (Stamullen M Donnelly), Michael Redden (South Dublin), Stephen O'Sullivan (, Colm Cassidy (Usher Irish Road Club), Simon Williams (Juiced Orchard) and Martyn Irvine (Planet X).

Once in the leading pack, Martyn Irvine brought his track experience into play to split the group once more.

In the dash to the finish line, Irvine's pace was the deciding factor in landing a well deserved national champion's jersey.

16 July 2010


Back to top