Set Currency:
Your Basket - 0 Items - £0.00 Checkout

Team IDEA Take The Win- 1st Stage Post Ras 2015

Francesco Reda edges out Postlberger to claim superb opening stage victory at the 2015 An Posts

Sunday’s opening stage of the 2015 Post Rás was destined to ensure a fast, aggressive opening to this year's event.  Before the first 20 kilometres of the day's racing were complete the key breakaway of the day had already formed. A strong group of 15 riders went clear entering Sallins, this group included Reda, Postlberger, Irvine, Ryan Mullen and Joshua Edmondson (An Post Chain Reaction) and county rider Ian Richardson (DUBLIN UCD).

The breakaway group were setting a fast pace despite testing winds and it was Irish National Road Race Champion, Mullen, who took the opening third category climb at Sherlockstown. Mullen was at the head of the breakaway as they began to extend their lead out front to two minutes twenty seconds. Several chasing groups unsuccessfully tried to bridge the gap and with 30 kilometres to go, Reda and Postlberger attacked alone.

The duo worked together to forge a minutes lead over the chasing pack of 13 riders, but it was Reda who accelerated away in the final few hundred metres to claim a triumphant victory.

Following Sunday's action, Reda holds the points classification jersey as well as the yellow race leader jersey. Elliot Porter (Team 3M) claimed the King of the Mountains title for stage one while his team mate Jaap de Man won the Under-23 classification. Ian Richardson put in a superb performance to finish in 11th place overall and claim the County Rider jersey.

"I knew it would be a very tough stage and it’s always hard to predict what will happen but I was confident in my legs as I have trained very hard for this so I am very happy. As a team, we are strong so we will try to control the race going forward. The fifteen riders in the breakaway today are excellent riders so it will be hard, but we’re very happy today with the victory”, said a delighted Reda.

STAGE 1 - Stage 1 Stage Result
Dunboyne - Carlow 17 May 2015
Issued: 17 May 2015, 19:00
163ITAReda,FrancescoIDETeam IDEA 2010 ASD3h32’38" 
212AUTPostlberger,LukasTIRTirol Cycling Team3h32’38" 
439IRLIrvine,MartynMGTMadison Genesis3h33’33"@ s/t
564ITATizza,MarcoIDETeam IDEA 2010 ASD3h33’33"@ s/t
62AUTBenetseder,JosefHACHrinkow Advarics Cycleangteam3h33’33"@ s/t
726NEDde Man,JaapMMMTeam 3M3h33’33"@ s/t
88GBREdmondson,JoshuaSKTAn Post Chain Reaction3h33’33"@ s/t
96IRLMullen,RyanSKTAn Post Chain Reaction3h33’33"@ s/t
1041GBRCuming,MichaelJLTJLT Condor3h33’33"@ s/t

18 May 2015

Back to top